









## ANDERS KROHN CLAIMS THE POLE AT SEBRING FOR ROUND ONE OF 2010 STAR MAZDA CHAMPIONSHIP PRESENTED BY GOODYEAR

Sebring International Raceway / Thursday , March 18 - Anders 'The Viking' Krohn, the Norwegian racer who won on the Milwaukee Mile and finished 6th in the championship last year, demonstrated that he is much more of a force to be reckoned with in his second season



of competition in the 2010 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear.

Back with Andersen Racing, the team with which he won the 2008 F2000 championship, Krohn turned a lap of 1:58.053 (112.831 mph) in his #47 Andersen Racing / Norse Cutting & Abandonment / Trallfa / Colosseum Mazda to claim the inside of the front row for the 12:45 pm standing start of Friday's Star Mazda season-opener. The time is a new Star Mazda

track record; the previous best time was 1:59.986 set by 2007 Series champion Dane Cameron.

"The track is not quite as 'grippy' as it was yesterday, so the times aren't quite as quick as in practice," says Krohn, who qualified 6th and finished 17th in this event last year due to mechanical problems. "But the Andersen team has done a tremendous job to give me such a quick, consistent car and I'm very happy to be starting from my first-ever Star Mazda pole; this is half of the best possible way to start a season; now I just have to complete the second half by winning the race."

It was a back-and-forth battle throughout two days of practice and this morning's qualifying session between Krohn and his Andersen Racing teammates Mikael Grenier and Tristan Vautier. The trio has pretty much controlled the top of the time sheets and will start 1-2-3 in tomorrow's race. Grenier set a time of 1:58.312 (112.584 mph) in the #17 Andersen Racing / NAPA Auto Parts / CAA-Quebec/HS Telecom Mazda to claim the outside of the front row and Vautier, a rookie to the Star Mazda Championship, turned the third-fast time of 1:58.724 (112.193 mph) in his #38 Andersen Racing / Moulin TP / Cecibon / Circuit du Laquais Mazda.

Rounding out the top-5 will be Conor Daly, son of F1/Indy Car racing legend Derek Daly, who will start 4th with a lap of 1:58.782 (112/138 mph) in his #22 Juncos Racing / INDECK / College Network / Merchant Services Ltd. / Tom Lange Co. Mazda. Daly, who finished 3rd in the 2009 Star Mazda Championship also finished 3rd in this event last year. His 2009 record also includes a win from the pole at New Jersey and six podium finishes.

Gerry Kraut, the runner-up on the 2009 Star Mazda Master Series (drivers 45 and older) qualified 15th overall with a lap of 2:10.435 (109.627 mph) in his #55 JDC Motorsports / Dougherty & Co. / Dougherty Funding LLC Mazda. Kraut is the CEO of Dougherty & Co. and is co-owner of the championship-winning JDC Motorsports team. The quickest Expert Series (drivers 30 – 44) driver was J W Roberts, who qualified 18th overall with a lap of 2:02.167 (109.031 mph) in the #65 Team GDT / General Data Tech Mazda. Roberts is the owner of Team GDT and is fielding four cars in the Sebring race. He finished 4th in the Expert Series championship in 2009 after missing most of the season for the birth of his latest child.

The 45-minute Round 1 of the 2010 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear season takes the green at 12:45 pm, Friday, March 19. The race will be broadcast in tape-delay syndication; visit www.mazdaracing.tv for dates, times and channels.

2010 Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear Round One / Sebring International Raceway / Results of Star Mazda Championship Qualifying Thursday, March 18, 2010

	Thursday, March 16, 2010								
Pos	No.	Name	Best Tm	Best Speed	In Lap	Diff	Gap	Sponsor	
1	47	Anders Krohn	1:58.053	112.831	7			Norse Cutting and Abandonment, Trallfa Industries, Colosseum	
2	17	Mikael Grenier	1:58.312	112.584	4	0.259	0.259	NAPA Auto Parts, CAA-Quebec, HS Telecom	
3	38	Tristan Vautier	1:58.724	112.193	7	0.671	0.412	Moulin TP, Cecibon, Circuit du Laquais, Fontanel	
4	22	Conor Daly	1:58.782	112.138	7	0.729	0.058	INDECK, The College Network, Merchant Services Ltd., Tom Lang Co.	
5	16	David Ostella	1:59.030	111.905	5	0.977	0.248	GP Global Precast	
6	18	Joao Horto	1:59.223	111.723	7	1.170	0.193	Wabash Capital Investments	
7	9	Jorge Goncalvez	1:59.275	111.675	7	1.222	0.052	Wabash Capital Investments	
8	33	Richard Kent	1:59.325	111.628	4	1.272	0.050	Traka	
9	19	Caio Lara	1:59.719	111.261	7	1.666	0.394	MLD, ATW	
10	11	Connor De Phillippi	1:59.721	111.259	2	1.668	0.002	Mazdaspeed Motorsports, Skip Barber	
11	66	Rusty Mitchell	1:59.733	111.248	7	1.680	0.012	Motorola, Petro Comm.	
12	27	Court Vernon	1:59.803	111.183	11	1.750	0.070	Mangroove Boats,Capt. Harry's	
13	13	Michael Furfari	1:59.830	111.157	3	1.777	0.027	Furfari Paving	
14	85	Chris Miller	2:00.177	110.837	6	2.124	0.347	Miller Milling, Red Line Oil	
15	55	Gerry Kraut	2:01.453	109.672	5	3.400	1.276	Dougherty and Co./Dougherty Funding LLC.	
16	28	Juan Piedrahita	2:01.542	109.592	9	3.489	0.089	Petro Sur, GFK Motors	
17	94	Hayden	2:01.862	109.304	9	3.809	0.320	Tampa Bay Endodontics	

		Duerson					
18	65	JW Roberts	2:02.167	109.031	7	4.114	0.305 General Data Tech
19	37	Dom Bastien	2:02.731	108.530	14	4.678	0.564
20	31	Carlos Conde	2:03.112	108.194	10	5.059	0.381 Pronto-GMT, Olympus Securities
21	24	Ian Harms	2:04.274	107.183	7	6.221	1.162 CAL Development Inc. , CAL Custom Cabinets
22	25	Tatiana Calderon	2:04.461	107.021	2	6.408	0.187 Kia Motors
23	20	Carlos Linares	2:08.068	104.007	3	10.015	3.607 IND

## **About Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear**

For 2010, the Star Mazda Championship presented by Goodyear will feature an 11-weekend, 13-race schedule, most on major race weekends with American Le Mans and the Indy Racing League. Rising stars from around the world will compete for prizes valued at \$1.5 million and benefit from two driver development programs, including the MAZDASPEED Motorsports Driver Development Ladder and the Indy Racing League's 'Road to Indy' program. Series alumni include Indy Car stars Marco Andretti, Graham Rahal and Raphael Matos, rising NASCAR drivers Michael McDowell, Scott Speed and Colin Braun and prototype racers Dane Cameron and Guy Cosmo. Drivers 16 and older are welcome to compete and the Star Mazda Championship also features Expert (30 to 44) and Master (45 and older) classes for more mature racers. The Star Mazda Championship features standing starts, wheel-to-wheel racing at 150 mph and budgets a fraction of other top open-wheel ladder series. For more information on the Star Mazda Championship please visit www.starmazda.com

\_\_\_\_\_

For more information on the Star Mazda Championship and its drivers, as well as the Mazda Motorsports ladder system, please visit <a href="www.starmazda.com">www.mazdausa.com</a>. For information, interviews and photos, contact Star Mazda Communications Director Peter Frey at (818) 398-5733 or <a href="starMazdaPR@aol.com">starMazdaPR@aol.com</a>.

\_\_\_\_\_

On any given weekend, there are more Mazdas on the road-race tracks of America than any other brand of vehicle. At the track, you'll see MX-5 Miata, RX-8, MAZDA3, MAZDA6, RX-7 and other vintage Mazda models competing, because every Mazda has the Soul of a Sports Car.

For more information on the various Mazda spec series, visit:

<u>www.usf2000.com</u> <u>www.skipbarber.com</u> <u>www.mx-5cup.com</u>

Dean Case / Communications Officer / MAZDASPEED Motorsports

(310) 318-4582 / E-mail: MAZDASPEED@MazdaUSA.com

